Skip to content

Fuck you Rake! Fuck you!

March 30, 2014

Make me laugh, make me cry, make me laugh again!

Fuck you Rake! Fuck you!

Rake has proven itself week in and week out to be among the best shows ever produced in Australia. Week in and week out Rake has managed to entertain and delight with its witty scripts and great acting. Week in and week out Richard Roxburgh has inhabited the role of Cleaver Greene with a mixture of zest and self loathing that will stay in my memory for years.

Cleaver at his best

But tonight Rake made me cry. A deep, mournful, sobbing cry.

The scene of a phone call between Cleaver and Barney floored me with its pathos.  The grief between two men is rarely portrayed as honestly or accurately as Rake managed this evening. Two blokes, mates for the rest of their lives, coming to terms with news that sucked the air out of the room.

Cleaver and Barney on a better day

I bawled.

I cried in a way I haven’t for years.

But then as it was bound to do Rake had me laughing again by the end.

So fuck you! Fuck you Rake! And thank you for so much.

From → Entertainment

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

