Skip to content

Happy New Year

December 31, 2012

Happy New Year to all my family, friends and readers.

2012 has been a good year personally and a big year socially.

First and foremost I have now been seeing a psychologist for the last 15 months and the gains have been fantastic.  When previously I would find myself in depressive funks for weeks on end and I would find anxiety crippling, I am now able to get myself out my front door and keep functioning. Being active is the quickest solution to a depressive episode. I used to jest about Americans seeing shrinks and the like but if you are having personal troubles or mental health issues I recommend it wholeheartedly.

I’ve been involved in two by-election campaigns with the Australian Sex Party. Although I exhausted myself with each one I loved working hard, getting to know new people and experiencing what hard work can achieve.  Our results in Niddrie and Melbourne were fantastic and I’m looking forward to 2013 which will bring a Federal Election.  Beyond the by-elections I also worked at Midsumma, Pride, Fetish and Sexpo.  I learnt from each experience and my middle class vanilla upbringing has been well and truly challenged and my outlook changed.

To everyone in the Australian Sex Party I say thank you for your camaraderie, your friendship and your efforts.

During the Niddrie campaign I met a lovely young lady who I dated for a couple of months.  It didn’t work out but I enjoyed the time we spent together.  I’ll keep searching but for now I’m happy to take each day as it comes.

In 2012 I helped to grow the Campaign for Women’s Reproductive Rights.  I’m proud to say that our rally numbers increased threefold and that our clinic defences have kept the Catholics’ Rosary Parade away from the Fertility Control Clinic since October.  I also helped organise a counter rally to a Parliament House protest and a Melbourne Feminist Action defence of the clinic.  I also made my own contribution in Destroying the Joint.

I had my first full year on twitter and made some interesting contacts. I’ve met some great people at Wonkdrinks and loved learning from them.  I’ve had two tweets featured on Q and A, one quite prominently.

I’ve probably never danced less in a year than in 2012 but two occasions were memorable. One saw me dancing around a stripper pole and another time I danced for abortion rights.

2012 was a let down for film. My most anticipated movies were generally let downs, but the less anticipated movies still delivered enough delights to keep me going back to the cinema time and time again.  I have quite a few movies to catch up on and not enough hours in the days of late.

We’ve lost too many loved and treasured ones in 2012 – as we seem to do every year.  This tribute from Coldplay to MCA of the Beastie Boys brought me to tears.

Thanks to Sarah I saw Prince play this year.  Although not a big Prince fan I enjoyed it immensely.  I’m looking forward to seeing Bruce Springsteen play in 2013 having recently secured tickets thanks to my Dad.

Softball with the Flaming Beacons continues to be a source of enjoyment and much needed recreation. (I don’t think I can call it exercise.)  This year I rediscovered that I like kayaking and in 2013 I hope to do more.  With Zoe and Lianna back from Europe there is every chance I’ll find myself hiking at some stage as well.

I spent many hours of 2012 walking through Melbourne taking pictures of street art and the other treasures of our city.  I delight in sharing them. I’ve found myself seeking out food treasures in Melbourne and have made orgasm faces with Crofty more than once at Koko Black (get the mousse and ice cream and mix them together on a spoon).  In 2013 I have a feeling I’ll be looking for more of the culinary delights my city offers.

I love my city and the energy which permeates it.  It’s not to say Melbourne is perfect.  There are many ways in which it could be improved, but it’s “MY CITY”.

2012 saw me start this blog and I’m sure it’s been an eclectic mix of opinion.  It has been good to put words down though and publish them for critique.  There really is no other way to get better at writing than to write and accept criticism.  I invite all constructive criticism – and please point out any and all typos.

Finally to my father I want to say thank you.  I love you.  I want the world to know that.

Have a happy and safe New Years Eve and one way or another I hope to catch up with all of you in 2013.

Chris

Marilyn and Me

From → Melbourne, Personal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

