Skip to content

Wonderful Garden

November 2, 2012

Wonderful Garden is one of those unassuming institutions that has fed Melbournians for years.  I don’t know how long it has been there but I have been a regular customer for fifteen years. (I wasn’t lying when I said I have my favourites and return to them often.)

Fifteen years ago it looked out onto a staid concrete plaza.  Nowadays it is located in what has become a laneway (unnamed, which is rare in itself in Melbourne).

5/610 Collins Street, Melbourne VIC 3000

Wonderful Garden

Fifteen years ago I was a fussier eater. I would often buy fried rice and a spring roll.  In time I was ordering lemon chicken and fried rice, and eventually I was choosing from the full menu.

The food is ready to be served, sitting in a bain-marie but don’t let that fool you.  The dishes are hot and cooked with a regularity so that it feels fresh to the succession of customers who file in and out of the store.

My favourites are the BBQ pork with vegetables, prawns with vegetables, and occasionally I still have the lemon chicken.

The BBQ pork with vegetables is flavoursome, the pork is tender, the vegetables well cooked.  The sliced carrots and water chestnuts are soft, the broccoli has a fresh crunch.  The prawns are succulent and plentiful.  The lemon chicken is not of restaurant quality but the batter is light and the lemon sauce compliments the fried rice.

I could best describe the food as hearty.  The serves are generous, with more food than you could think possible crammed into the containers.  Regulars will often be offered a free spring roll.  All at prices that is wonderful value.

$7.50 will buy you a large serve of fried rice and 2 dishes.
$8.50 if you choose the prawns.

Open from 10am to 7pm I usually visit Wonderful Garden for lunch but occasionally pick up food to take home for dinner.   If you find yourself down the Spencer Street end of town you could do a lot worse than ducking into the Wonderful Garden for a feed.

From → Food, Melbourne

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

